Photos365

By raistllynn

Wee blast from the past

Sandy has bought a new toy. It's a USB record player - sorry - turntable. That meant digging out a box of albums ("wow - they're massive!", said 13 year old) and having a good old look through.

I love my albums - even if I'm never really likely to play them again like I used to.

I have many happy memories of being surrounded by open records all over the room; of studying to specific albums (Tubular Bells by Mike Oldfield and Relayer by Yes); of buying records whilst at Uni at Lost In Music in DeCourcey's arcade.

I got a load of stuff in 'the quid pile' there - my (decent) theory being that if the band had long hair and 2 guitarists and the album was dated 1976, then I bought it without knowing anything about it. I bought some real turkeys but also some great albums.

*sigh*

Happy memories of something that just won't happen in the future. No second hand record shops if all music is MP3...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.