Spray Day

Wigeon having a great time on Seafield Pond, West Barns. This flock has been great to watch and listen to with their comedy 'peep peep' and regular movement en-masse from grazing on the grass, to grazing on the pond, to grazing on the beach. Yes, they graze a lot - I'm guessing they're stocking up for breeding season. Then today they were creating these huge sprays of water by rearing up and paddling furiously. Brilliant! So, now I'm guessing they're getting ready to go.

Along with the beautiful clear sunshine, the effect was spectacular. I was lucky to see the display when I persuaded the children to take the long way home from school and (of course) then had to drag them away so that I could get back to my desk.

Big Splash.

Lots more splashing on Flickr.

The older lads were down the river to try their luck with the little trout we could clearly see on the way home, but it wasn't long before they were home with tangled lines and shot off with a football.

A quiet weekend to look forward to, with my friend Iain coming out for some therapy involving wine, guitars and bikes. I really need a bit of that, the week has worn me out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.