Postcards from a grey man

By 8LAD35

Childhood memory

30 day +1 challenge - day 10

Missed day 9. I wanted to feature my other half for the 'someone you love' theme but she is even more camera-shy than I am. It just didn't happen.

Back to today's blip. Maybe it's a bit lame for a childhood memory. I vividly remember the very first time I stood on this spot and saw the magnificent sight in front of me. August 28th 1978. Sheffield United v Liverpool in the league cup. A game we won 1-0 when Liverpool were European champions and were winning everything. They put out the full first team in this game too, unlike today when the under 11s would get a run out. A magical night that secured a lifelong love of The Blades.

The view has changed dramatically since but like all true fans, you never forget your first game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.