OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Umbellifer

I went up to Skaill Bay to walk to Marwick looking for the nearctic gulls that have arrived here in numbers. I found about 10 iceland and 5 glaucous at Skaill then set off along the coast northward. The day was bright but overcast but by lunchtime the clouds had broken up and the afternoon was all glorious winter sunshine.

I saw some more of the gulls and then, as I approached the Fishermans' Huts at Sand Geo, I noticed a lot of the white-winged gulls in the air. I thought that there must be something washed up there and there was, a very large portion of a dead whale. There were about 30 iceland gulls, including some of the sub-species 'Kumlien's' and 6 glaucous at least. I was able to get some pretty good shots which are on flickr...here.

Odd, then, to put a weed here, but I do like the shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.