Ice crystals

I had the most wonderful walk today. For perhaps the first time this winter there was a really good frost, the sort that turns everywhere into a winter wonderland. I'd been planning to have a quiet day of recovery, to prepare myself for a busy week, and went out into the garden to take a few frosty images. I tried doing it 'properly' with a tripod and timer, but just couldn't get myself co-ordinated :)

In the end I couldn't resist going for my usual riverside walk, wrapped up warm against the freezing temperatures. I was so glad I made that decision, because it was perfect - calm, bright and with scarecely a breath of wind. And I really didn't feel cold - in fact I didn't even put my gloves on.

The dogs love frosty conditions and the walk was a great success - except for the point when Gemma got attacked by a Dobermann. She defended herself well, given that she's a mature old lady, and it's teeth didn't make contact, but she managed to twist her back leg during the exchange. I thought we might have to turn back, but a quick massage seemed to do the trick.

I was like a child in a sweet shop and came back with all sorts of frosty images, so many that it was hard to choose my favourite. In the end I chose this because it shows the perfection of the individual ice crystals, that have developed on a reed leaf. It really needs to be seen large to appreciate the detail.

Alex also really liked this monochrome which does capture something of the sparkle of the day. I'm amazed it came out at all, as I was effectively blind when I took it - dazzled by the sun and with my glasses steamed up!!

Om my way back I met a man who commented that I had a nice camera. We got talking about photography, and ended up chatting about all sorts of things - dogs,wildlife, education... It turned out that he was a lecturer in law at a local university, and had done his degree at Sheffield! Standing around did leave me a bit chilly and I was glad to get back to a nice hot cup of coffee...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.