Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

First pizza from scratch!

Today, I finally attempted to make pizza from scratch. Fortunately, I am a pretty good cook (started at 10 years old) so it worked out fine. I have been wanting to try this for years. The closest I got were kit pizzas or pre-made pies to which you add sauce, cheese, and toppings. I wanted to go full out. I found a recipe for whole wheat pizza dough in Anne Lindsey's Smart Cooking recipe book. I halved everything because it is just Linda and I. It turned out just fine. The dough cooperated which is a good start. I never made dough from scratch before; flours, salt, yeast, a pinch of sugar. It worked. I had some leftover pasta sauce from spaghettini the other night. Added some pre-shredded cheddar and mozzarella, some Parmesan, mushrooms, tomatoes, chopped red onion, and a teaspoon of basil & oregano spice mix. 15 minutes later we had what you see here. Linda had her St. Ambroise Apricot Wheat Ale, I had Barking Squirrel lager beer - a new favourite brewed down the highway and doing well in international competitions. Delish! And I have wanted to blip the pizza wheel for months! Oh, and as I was photographing then devouring my first slice, Rush's Tom Sawyer played on the radio (Rush is my favourite band). It was fate, I tell yah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.