AviLove

By avilover

Birds of the rocks

Presenting: Calidris ptilocnemis, Arenaria melanocephala and Aphriza virgata.

These three sandpipers inhabit rocky coastlines, quite cooperatively, it would seem. I often see these three--the Rock Sandpiper, Black Turnstone, and Surfbird--as I did today, at the north Jetty of Humboldt Bay, though usually not this close together. It was as though they were attending a conference...

"I hereby call this meeting to order."

"All in favor of today's mild swells and ample barnacle yield, say 'aye'."

"Aye."

"Aye."

"Very well. Motion is passed. Meeting adjourned."

They were somewhat distant so I'm not sure exactly what was said, though it couldn't have been much more than that because they only stayed within frame for about 20 seconds. And then they were off again, picking at this and that and dodging the waves as they crashed on the rocks.

...

I've recently upgraded my camera and I'm still working things out. My pictures are coming out quite grainy and I'm not sure why--could be a number of culprits. Hopefully I'll work out the kinks before I start photographing the Hawaiian honeycreepers in a few weeks....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.