A year in the Liefe of

By LainieC

Hope

Let me introduce my 'common' orange Clivia plant.This relative of the Amaryllis, is a native of South Africa,and tends to grow in forrested areas in the wild.
We christened her 'HOPE' because for years we had a pot full of plant with beautiful lush green foliage brightening up a shady spot in our room but never a bloom.Surely we were entitled to a few spikes of flowers.After all,man is yang and plants ying and when the two embrace things should start to happen.Men breathe out to give the plants a life and plants return the favour.
Last year, we had the big event.It happened.'HOPE' blossomed and although somewhat sparse this year, she has again succeeded in flowering.
Hope blossomed in more ways than one.During my illness, I wanted to give up so many times but my hope which started in the dark corners of my mind came into the light when I was eventually released form hospital care not so long ago. When the world said, "Give up," hope whispered, "Try it one more time." I did and I will continue to do so.
"All it takes is one bloom of hope to make a spiritual garden." ~Terri Guillemets

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.