Down in the Dip

By DownintheDip

I Would have Loved This When I Was A Kid

We went swimming this morning, i have decided to try to get a bit of exercise every day as I was feeling a bit of a blob.
Although it is a long drive to the nearest swimming pool we hope to go every weekend.
The pool has one of those flume slides for the kids and they roped off part of the pool and brought out some dinky pedal boats. I managed to get a few laps in, between the kiddy minding, which was great. I almost passed out after one lap of front crawl!
I have a memory from when I was a kid seeing this old woman swimming length after length of breast stroke and thinking "how boring". I remember clearly that she didn't even get her red flowery plastic haircap wet. When I went to The Commonwealth Pool in Edinburgh all those years ago swimming pools were for splashing about, diving underwater and jumping around. I have now turned into that woman (without the red swim cap - does anyone remember those things with the huge plastic flowers on them?)

Anyway the children enjoyed themselves today, they did all their splashing around. When we were all dressed and leaving this was in the pool. I think we will definitely be back next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.