Photos of things I see

By Aboak

Haig on a horse

Here's Earl Douglas Haig - Field Marshall Haig to his men - and (in)famous leader of the British Army during WWI.

He's tucked away here at the back of Edinburgh Castle but he gets a good view - from his position, I think he can see my flat and the rest of the west of Edinburgh.

I can't claim to know much about Haig. I didn't even realise he was Scottish.

Most of my WW1 military history is gleaned from Blackadder Goes Forth. Poor old Haig was lampooned somewhat, as this excerpt from the script shows.

[Blackadder is informed that a German spy is stealing battle plans]
General Melchett: You look surprised, Blackadder.
Captain Blackadder: I certainly am, sir. I didn't realise we had any battle plans.
General Melchett: Well, of course we have! How else do you think the battles are directed?
Captain Blackadder: Our battles are directed, sir?
General Melchett: Well, of course they are, Blackadder, directed according to the Grand Plan.
Captain Blackadder: Would that be the plan to continue with total slaughter until everyone's dead except Field Marshal Haig, Lady Haig and their tortoise, Alan?
General Melchett: Great Scott! Even you know it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.