Morvern

Seeing as I picked her last piece of work as my film of the year for 2011, I reckoned it was really my duty to go and re-appraise Lynne Ramsay's 2002 movie Morvern Callar, showing as part of the Sunday double bill at The Cameo. A trip out to the matinee also meant enough time for a little swim to end the week with and some more photographs around the old brewery site.

And, I recall liking but not loving the film when it first came out, and after a second viewing my opinion's pretty much the same as before. There are undoubtedly brilliant bits in it and an absolute signature Ramsay stamp to large segments but overall it's just a bit too uneven for me, the tone veers too wildly, it lurches when perhaps it should glide. The sound design and the soundtack are fantastic though. There's stuff like this in it for starters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.