La vida de Annie

By Annie

Dog day afternoon

Another lovely cold crisp sunny day, much too nice to stay in nursing a sore ankle, so I recruited a couple of dog wranglers from the bodies slumped in front of Sunday afternoon TV, and we took these three reprobates to Sefton Park, where there was lots to bark at: kids, dogs, bikes, rollerskates, pushchairs and the birds on the lake. Here the battle of the Somme was being re-enacted by hordes of marauding seagulls diving to snatch the bread from under the beaks of the resident ducks, geese and swans, and making a dreadful racket all the while. I've been overdoing the walking all week so no point in doing anything differently today, though by the time we got round the park I was distinctly trailing behind and demonstrating a bizarre hobbling gait. The only awkward moment was when a sheepdog eyed up my stick hopefully; I thought he was going to run off with it. Reminded me of how they love to have sticks thrown for them. My daft three of course just watch in puzzlement if you throw anything for them to chase, then carry on walking in the opposite direction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.