FortyTwo

By 42

Bastille Day

Bon Fete! A lazy, hazy (to do with drink - read on) day today on the French National day. A lie in and a late breakfast was followed by drinks with the mayor in the village square in front of the church. I sampled a couple of large cups of the local specialty "pineau", which is brandy mixed with wine. Its the strength of fortified wine and kinda tastes a bit like cherry brandy or Vimto with a kick!

This is Jacqueline, a lovely old French lady. I'd made a promise to myself to try and get a shot of an interesting French character and I think this qualifies! She had never seen a digital camera before and was amazed at the little picture of her on the back when I showed her. Apparently I've got to do a slide show for her later in the week ... which went well.

The drinking continued with a kir royale over lunch. I took a walk around the village and took some shots of the sunflowers and inside the church. Oh, and more sunflowers...

In the evening we went to a fireworks display in Aulney (more drinking - beer this time). The shots of fireworks were rubbish, but I got an interesting grainy shot of some sunset people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.