Stargazing

You'll see much better photos of Jupiter, you might even see better ones tonight, but it's here because..............

Tonight sees the return of the BBC2 programme "Stargazing". The company I work for are involved in this. We store all the stars in a large warehouse in Wellingborough and our guys make sure that they are all in place ready for Professor Brian "It's enormous!" Cox to eulogise about them. I think that's what we do but I may be mistaken - I'm pretty sure that's what we do.

So. I thought this would be a great opportunity to try some digiscoping. Out I went with the scope and decided to go for Jupiter - it's a big bright rascal almost overhead (and the Google Star Map app on me phone helped). I could see it with me eyes but struggled with the scope. Then I thought I'd put the camera on and see if I could snap any stars at all but the tripod isn't butch enough and the whole kit and caboodle was slumping under the weight of the camera and scope so I ended up taking this with the 300mm lens. Not that good but you'll have it and that's that!

In other news - it's Martin Luther King Day in the US. A man who changed the world yet died before his 40th birthday. His dream hasn't come true yet but that doesn't mean we should stop trying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.