Ionnature

By ionnature

His Own Drummer...

Today was Martin Luther King, Jr., Day in the states. His birthday was January 15 but the day floats, i.e., it's celebrated on the third Monday in January and is a federal holiday.

With schools closed (along with post offices, banks, and some businesses), activities and events are held throughout the country. Here in Grand Rapids, students and some adults participated in a peace march that wound its way through the city at lunch time.

I was taking pictures of the marchers when this fellow decided that his drummer was leading him in another direction :-)

In his search for justice, the inimitable MLK, who marched to his own drummer as well, left us with his example and many wise words:

"In the end, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends."

"If you want to say that I was a drum major, say that I was a drum major for justice. Say that I was a drum major for peace. I was a drum major for righteousness. And all of the other shallow things will not matter."

Peace to you, my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.