Anytime I wake in the night....

....and lie there in the dark thinking,
the question that comes to me most often is:

How do Birds stand on wires?

Once I built a model, Bird and wire,
and proved it could not be done.

Then, two years ago, suddenly,
and, of course, in the middle of the night,
I understood how they managed it.

As the Bird's feet touch the wire
a circuit of anti-gravity suffuses the whole Bird
so that, although we see the Bird the right way up,
the Bird is actually hanging on
as if it was hanging upside down.

Once you understand this, and watch the Bird closely,
it becomes obvious this is the only answer

Thank you all for all your great photographs
and stories these last twenty months
while I staggered towards
three hundred and sixty five....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.