fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Snowy Heron

Big R spotted this little Heron looking very cold out in the grasses as we approached the off leash dog park early this morning. Gingerly I spun turned around the car so as to get my blip of him---the heron not Big R! Roads were a tad icy so the turn around was dicy!

I chose not to wear the crampons on my boots because the path seemed just snowy..not icy. A big MISTAKE. A bit on down the trail all in a matter of seconds I flipped ass over tea kettle and landed on my back and butt and head. Luckily I had lots of added padding to my own good dose of butt padding! I thought I was seeing stars at first but it was only all the gathering of local dogs trying to lick and smell me---Big R was kind of worried but I did manage to right myself up with the help of a nearby fence! I had even been walking with my two trek poles so I guess it was icy! I kept going so as to keep limber until I thought I heard dog owners calling out names of dogs like....Jasper...Skipper...Cabbagetree.....NannaK and Meles and then I knew I was hearing things...time to go home and take a load off!!!

Thanks for spotting the Heron Big R! A shot of me flattened out might have been good too---glad I left the Nikon in the car!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.