Frosted leaves and a fabulous day.

I knew today was likely to be a fine day and had thought that, if it was, I'd make my first visit of the 2012 to Minsmere. Well it turned out to be an absolutely BEAUTIFUL day, starting with a brilliant sunrise.

Minsmere is in a state of upheaval at the moment with the new visitor centre due to open before Easter. They have done very well to squeeze a lot into their temporary accommodation and the welcome, as always, was warm.

Headed first to the Island Mere Hide - the newest addition to the hides. Heard a Woodpecker drumming in the woods but couldn't spot him at all. There were many birds about in the woodland including lots of Goldcrests. This photo does have a Goldcrest in it, honest, but it was a very long way away and hardly ever sat still!!!

The Island Mere Hide is very modern and posh. Not altogether sure I like it and I certainly didn't today as the big lens brigade was out!! They spent all of their time discussing rarities and, when they did spot something, the sound of their cameras was very annoying. Sorry to sound intolerant but I go to Minsmere to get away from stress. I don't expect hides to always be as silent as a morgue but there ARE limits!! So I left - and 10 minutes later an Otter was seen in front of the hide. GRRRRRRR!!

Retracing my steps I went to my favourite hide, the Bittern Hide. This is high up above the reedbed looking towards Sizewell. There wasn't much on show there but it restored my equilibrium. Whilst I was there I learned the amazing fact that there are fewer Marsh Harriers in the UK than Golden Eagles. I never fail to see these magnificent birds at Minsmere and elsewhere in the area. Very lucky indeed.

The sun was casting lovely shadows in the woods.

After warming up with a bowl of soup I set off down towards the North Bushes. This is NOT a peaceful place at the moment as the Environment Agency is just completeing work on the new flood defences. There were still pockets of frost in the shaded areas. These leaves caught my attention. Thanks to my good friend Welsh Si for helping with the edit of this one and another version to be seen here. He's a good tutor!!

Nothing unusual to be seen except some VERY puffed up Chaffinches! They were almost the size of tennis balls. The usual suspects were flitting about, all very busy in the sunshine.

Sitting down at the picnic tables under the trees I waited to see what might appear. 4 Magpies soon put in an appearance - last year's youngsters I think. One was quite cheeky and very brave. There was also a Robin who wasn't quite brave enough to come too close.

It was, by now, getting close to sunset. The light was beautiful and I thought I'd stay on to see if the sunset was good. Climbing to a higher viewpoint, I took some shots over the reserve as the sun went down. Boy did it get chilly and I was glad to get back to the car.

Driving back towards Westleton the sky got more and more vivid and I just HAD to stop to take this view of trees. You can't see it on this pic but the field in front has around a dozen Bewick Swans in it, keeping away from the business of Minsmere.

An almost perfect day. They don't happen that often but, when they do, we need to grab them with both hands. Hope you have enjoyed my account of it and wish you had been there!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.