LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

What Presence!

Best lunch break I am likely to have this year. Spent half an hour along at Trongate 103 in Glasgow at What Presence: The Rock Photography of Harry Papadopoulos. If you are interested in gig photography, band photography, black and white shots or portraiture, would really recommend you pay a visit to see this exhibition. I will definitely be going back before it ends on 25 Feb and they are selling some of the shots as cards and posters, so think I will be getting a frame to get some in the study. I came away inspired and more keen than ever to give gig photography and portraiture a go this year.

All the details can be found over here, again well worth a visit!

Rather than take a blip of one of the shots (too many to choose from), I really liked this collage of Sounds magazine front covers (Papadopoulous was staff photographer for the magazine between 1979-84). Eagle eyed blippers will see the New Order ticket stub, possibly Big Country one, an Orange Juice setlist and other bits and pieces too. On the opposite wall, there was a similar collage of NME's. I did have my own collage of both walls, but with no EXIF data, I couldnt be bothered trying to explain it to blip HQ!

Whilst not exactly Rock n Roll, the teenage me and my pals would often spend nights having a few beers (or cheap cider) sitting in a mate's bedroom reading old and current issues of NME, Melody Maker and Select magazine. Gutted that I have lost a lot of them (sure mum did a clear out when I went to uni!) and one of my friends still has years worth of NMEs in his loft, much to the annoyance of his wife!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.