What did I see today...?

By DaveR

A Game of Shadows

No prizes for guessing what I went to see today...!

I caught 'A Game of Shadows' before Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed it, and following the finale of 'Sherlock' on Sunday and finding out that a few of my friends were going today (indeed, a couple hadn't seen it yet!) I joined them for a viewing this evening. And it was still great :-D

My favourite scene of the movie takes part over a chess match between Holmes and Moriarty, as they play out the game the moves are mirrored by their real life accomplices putting both of their plans into action. As the game progresses and their battle intensifies they move from playing on the board to speaking the game aloud which then progresses into one of the most fantastically choreographed fight sequences that shows both of them still matching wits until between them they finally solve 'The Final Problem', but that's all I'm saying...

Anyway, with inspiration bubbling in my head I went and dug out the glass chess set I've got and, with the help of a mobile lamp and my house's awesome glass table, I managed to put this Blip together.

The game I used was found by searching for Moriarty vs Sherlock and chess on YouTube though apparently it's nothing to do with the book/film itself.

Edited to add: there's a mistake! Spotted by my friend Iain - I'll correct it if I get a chance, but bonus points to anyone who spots it first!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.