send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

Cutting edge

One thing that I love about using the Tamron 18-270 PZD for close-up images is just how small the depth-of field gets when you're using it at 270mm. I should point out though that it's not a "true" 270mm at close-up distances. I did an experiment a while back and figured out that it's more like 150mm, because the focal length changes slightly at minimum distances (I plan to do a full write-up on this at some point before the end of the project explaining how I did it and how to use it). Either way though, it makes it really easy to throw the background out of focus, even with a moderate aperture being used to optimise sharpness.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm PZD @ 270mm; ISO 400; F/8; 1/320s. VC off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.