a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

Snow!

I went to work last night figuring we might get a sprinkle or two or even a dusting of snow if it got cold enough. As the night went on, people were talking about all of the snow building up outside. I really don't like driving in the snow, and I was pretty worried for the rest of my shift knowing I'd be getting out at midnight.

When I left work, there was about 3 inches of snow on the ground. The highway was treacherous, it wasn't plowed and it was thick, slushy, slippery snow. My car was all over the place, sliding off the road, then back on again, then in to the median then back again. It was like that for the entire 25 mile ride home. It took me about an hour and 15 minutes total. I really don't think I've ever had such a bad experience driving in the snow before.

When I pulled in to my driveway, I was almost in tears and shaking. I was so afraid I'd get in to an accident in the middle of nowhere with no one around to help me. Thankfully I made it home safe.

This morning, Jack was pretty excited to see snow on the ground, although by morning, it had rained a bit, so there really wasn't much. We had to drop my car off at the garage for new brakes, then afterwards we headed out to play in the snow a bit. We didn't have much time, as Jack had to eat lunch then go to school. But he was happy to have the chance to play for a little bit.

Of course, his favorite part was trying to hit me with a snowball!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.