snapped by a curious mind

By iphigenie

July 13, arrival, waiting and festival

Arrived to Nijmegen on Sunday morning.

The coach of the danish hiking club, with which I am spending the week (I'm not danish and dont speak a word of it. Blame pippiline!) will only arrive late at night...

To kill the day I convince my ride to stay a bit longer and we convince a friend from WoW to come see us for a drink and a walk. It is great to cath up, and that takes care of time till 4:30.

I have till about 22:00 to kill with 2 bags in tow.

I wander about the festival but it is crowded and you're not popular when you lug a big bag around. The whole town is peppered with food stands, stages, there's troups of drunk soldiers everywhere, lots of people. I'd love it loads more if I didnt have a bag. I walk around everywhere but it gets harder as more people arrive.

I sit on the grass for an hour listening to very quiet music on the tiniest stage, then try to find a restaurant where I can sit inside with all my stuff. 4th time lucky, they are happy to have me but it will be 1 hour to get the food. Needless to say I am hungry when I finally get it :)

Then my danes arrive, we set up beds, and pippiline and I go for a tour of the town, so I can show off my freshly acquired knowledge of its geography.

We walked around hearing the same songs over and over from different bands (blues to rock to traditional, all played certain tunes - and the crowd sang). We found out later one was the football tune, not sure what the others were.

We found this event on the square where I had had lunch, and maybe you can see that there are musicians sat in every window on the building, on the staris and on a stage at the bottom.

You might even see 2 non musicians in one of the windows which really made me think of the 2 geezers in the muppet show.

It was all not quite my style but with so much happiness and enthusiasm we had to stay and join in the party.

Then off to bed :)

Pipp's entry for today: helicopter on the motorway

Links
-------------

Sunday 13 (travel) my blip - pippiline's blip

Monday 14 (waiting) my blip - pippiline's blip

Tuesday 15 (walking - the easy day) my blip - pippiline's blip

Wednesday 16 (walking - the tough day) my blip

Thursday 17 (walking - the better day) my blip - pippiline's blip

Friday 18 (walking - pain and determination) my blip - pippiline's blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.