send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

The walk of shame

For much of the afternoon, it was grey, overcast and a little bit bleak. I got a phonecall telling me that I didn't have to give my fiancee a lift home from work today, as a colleague was going to drop her off. So there didn't seem to be much point in going out.

Shortly after that, I got a message saying "Oops. Maybe not. [She's] put petrol in her diesel car by accident! What will that do?"

And that's how I ended up at the local petrol station, back on transport duty, staring at a sky full of colour that appeared without warning. You'll see two characters on the right (blurred to protect the embarrassed driver) returning to the car in time for the tow truck to arrive.

In fairness to her, it's been a hectic week. The saving grace was that she realised what she'd done before she turned the starter over. I'm sure it will seem funnier when the sting of having the tank drained wears off.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm PZD @ 18mm; ISO 200; F/7.1; 1.3s. VC off.

*There have been some recent requests to see some larger versions. Plug "the days zoom past" into google and you should find what you're looking for. Thanks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.