David J. Rose

By djrose007

MMmmmm Home made rock cakes

My favourite cake is Maderia and Rock Cakes but you don't often find Rock Cakes in shops nowadays so I thought I'd have a crack at making some.
I used a recipe out of my old 'Colmans' recipe book, it must be over 40 years old, and they turned out delicious.
The only deviation from the recipe was I added a little lemon zest as I love a bit of a lemon taste in cakes.
Will have another with a cup of coffee after dropping Marlane and Joanne off at the hospital with Lennon for his check up - that's another story which you don't know about.
November 2010 Lennon was very ill, in hospital for 3 weeks (Good Hope and Birmingham Childrens Hospital). he came out in a wheelchair and not expected to walk again for a few months, if at all. He was out of the wheelchair in a month and running around playing within two months. Still some affect hence the annual check ups for brain scan etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.