Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Echoes of the Raj

This was my first attempt at focus stacking and so I thought I would start with something big, like an elephant. In fact Jumbo is only 2 cm high and so best viewed zoomified..
He is an Indian elephant, probably brought back in the days of the British Raj.
You may well be asking how I can be so sure that he is an Indian elephant. The answer lies in the slab of ivory on which he is standing. It is a slice through an elephant tooth and you can clearly see the alternating bands of dentine and enamel. In Indian elephants the bands form parallel lines, rather like a series of capital letter I. I for India! In African elephants they are lozenge shaped, like a pair of capital As placed end to end. A for Africa! So, now you know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.