Oops Upside Your Head.

The Gap Band

This song has left a deep scar in me.
Many moons ago, I went to a disco (yes, I know, a disco) and ended up dancing to this hellish song in a vain and botched attempt to woo a girl. It was terrible, everything went wrong. My punk friends kept shouting out that I should pogo instead of the facilitating of the 'Rik Mayall boogie' that I was sure would ultimately lead to THE SLOW DANCE, and I remember cold beads of sweat running down my ribs and an inability to talk due to that dryness in the mouth that is brought on by fear. And when the song finally ended (it felt like 2 hours) she just walked off leaving me stranded in limbo with a dozen punks laughing and pointing at me. I felt like a traitor to the punk ethic.....the shame, the shame.
I may have quietly wept over my Spizz Energi records when I got home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.