Day After Christmas

Today my mom decided she wanted to see if we could remember how to play Canasta, our old favorite card game from when I was a kid. We remembered pretty well, with some help from the internet, and had some lively and competitive games. If I ever forget where I get my competitiveness from, or lest I think it was only from my father, I just need to play Canasta with my mom to remember. She is crazy competitive, hates to lose, and talks shit - but she wouldn't admit to any of those things. I think she was feeling a bit feisty this Christmas because on Christmas Eve she said "You're an idiot!" to me when I made up a silly song. Now, silly songs are purely from her so I'm not sure exactly why she responded so strongly. She has never said anything like that to me before and it kind of stung, I will admit. I am choosing to believe she just grabbed the wrong word in the moment and meant to say a lighthearted "You're a goofball!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.