Free The Mind

By SumK

Trapped

I'm currently trapped, encircled by a huge number of maths problems to finish in very little time so, I thought a blip related to my work would be appropriate.

Could a subject have more polarised views than maths? This will either fill you with dread or satisfaction. But often mathematicians themselves spend little time admiring their own work and just how artistic it is. How can maths be artistic you ask ?

If you stand back, don't try and interpret anything you can start to admire the shapes the symbols and see the human effort. On a blackboard in particular you can just see a peak of the previous remnants of work or the odd crossing out which I particularly like; as the human element is clearly present we all make mistakes. I'm also drawn in towards the curved integral symbols which seem to grab your eye and wrench it downwards.

Incidentally incase any one is checking my working don't kill me for the missing dx 's and square bracket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.