Patrona

By patrona

Favourite & Precious objects 1

This flask was given to me by Anna early in our relationship. She knows how I love things, they don't have to be valuable, they don't have to be beautiful, but they do have to be interesting . This flask was bought as an impromptu present 20 years ago, I am not sure what it is, a water carrier? a yoghurt pot? or something more sinister like a powder flask? It does have a lock or at least a hasp, so obviously something of some value was carried in it, it also has a ring on the lid so it can be hung from a cord or a belt.

It is made from an alloy, I suspect of silver and tin or pewter and tin though it is quite hard, and there is decorative brass work where the central panel has been soldiered in on both faces of the body. It has a little decoration of flowers and seeds on the clasp and the generally feel of it is Indian, or perhaps Pushtan.

If anyone knows what it is for definite I would like to know just to satisfy my curiosity, otherwise it will remain one of my fav and precious objects and a reminder of early days of love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.