Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Orion over the roof

I nearly missed again; but at least I got outside. Nearly time for the new moon but the weather will not be clear enough for the brilliantly cold clear winter nights when the Milky Way seems to be within reach.

I make a point, when I settle the dogs for the night, to just stand and stare at the sky for a few moments. I don't have to know all the stars and constellations; I have just a passing interest and as long as I can find Orion, Taurus, the Pleiades, Cassiopeia and the Plough (or Big Dipper) then I feel orientated.

Oh, trivia: the Japanese car company, Subaru, refers to the cluster we know as the Pleiades, or Seven Sisters, hence the star logo.

I distinctly remember wondering at the colours of the stars when I was quite a little boy; the colours here are an artefact of high ISO and asking a point-and-shoot to do something it's not meant to do ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.