Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Mussels for lunch

I am back from work and got some Brancaster, Norfolk mussels for lunch. In France, I usually go for the moules de bouchot which are farmed mussels grown on poles and harvested. They are small but with good flavour. The bigger shelled varieties sometimes are all shell with not a lot of shellfish inside. These ones were ok though. Brancaster mussels are harvested off the sea bed. I don't mess much with mussels. I think all they need is to be cooked with a little onion sweated in olive oil and parsley added half way through the cooking. I do not add liquid, cover the pan and remove them almost as soon as they have all opened. A little more parsley to garnish and eat immediately. I notice I am not the only one having mussels today Chaiselongue

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.