It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

At the Whitworth

I woke up with rain lashing off the window this morning. Not a great start as I was going into town. There was a talk by Mishka Henning at the Whitworth Gallery that I was looking forward to although I wasn't sure what to expect.

Mishka arrived a wee bit late as he was a bit under the weather and looked it. He explained that he used to be a sociologist but gave up the academic life to become a documentary photographer. As there wasn't too much money in it he moved up to Manchester to do what he's doing now. What this is, I'm not quite sure ....but it appears to be a bit of a bricolage of art, sociology and photography.

I enjoyed the talk but wasn't so sure about his work as it was a bit conceptualised for me. The concepts were good but visually I'm not sure if he hit the mark. Still, I think that was part of the point and anyway, the talk ended prematurely as ilness got the better of him.

I wandered down to Rusholme's curry mile in the hope that I got a blip. I love that place as it's so diverse, with interesting people from all round the world. Unfortunately, it was the wrong time of the day, and was too quiet for street photography.

I then went into town and went into a few jewellers to see if selling my watch was a possibility if I decide to buy a new camera. One ok offer which would get me a D700 body, but ebay may be a better option.

I then went to North Tea Power for a late lunch.....wow....only the counter seat left. I got a great compliment from the Canadian lass that works there for looking "way cool".... which in a very cool cafe is a compliment indeed.
My V60 was excellent a Rwandan Kigoma fully washed with a nice subtle fruity acidity.

Although my dream is to open my own cafe, today was a wee wake-up call. Wayne was running a production line of top quality drinks with the other barista and they never stopped once for breath, but still managed to keep the latte art up. Chapeau!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.