Snips and Snaps

By NLN

Dean Black Brook

Having not set the alarm this morning I slept through until gone seven, Ian had been up at some ungodly hour and came in to check whether I intended going out to meet up with the usual crowd for a run. I sat up had a few gulps of tea and listened to the wind howling around the gable end. Naw, I'll just go out from the house through the woods and out on the fields.... but would I? A few more gulps of tea and it was up, dressed and out. And as always a great to be out day.

Strong gusts of wind were the order of the day, but a route was planned that kept it behind us on the main climb of the day over Great Hill. This is Dean Black Brook which is the stream running into the hamlet of White Coppice. What you're looking at is the top of the main drop of a 20ft waterfall - the wind is so strong that not only were we blown off our feet several times, but the water is being blown back upstream - no rain 'though which was a real bonus. A great morning out in good company and 13 miles in the bag - glad I struggled out of bed :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.