A life in a day ...

By Transmanche

Venus de Milo

I have this statue on a shelf above my work desk. It doesn't have any special significance but recently I wanted to use a picture of it in a chapter entitled Cultural Tourism. I was really surprised to find that it was impossible to use it because of the bare breasts which would mean that sales in any Arab market would be severely compromised. Pearson Education even has thought-police in Saudi Arabia who give their opinions on the suitability of this or that image and now cathedrals can't appear in text books as they might offend the delicate sensibilities of Islamic fundamentalists. Of course, any reference to alcohol is taboo.

This seems to me to be a real cop-out and I admire the people who dare publish cartoons or other images of the prophet at the danger of their lives.

Please don't blow up my computer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.