Life is a Minestrone !!

By bererunner

Saved by the Swan.................

I just don't know where the time goes to these days, it seems the older i get the faster the time goes..............

My plan to head out early to get a blip in the bag, turned out to be a late afternoon hope and pray sort of affair...........

I've wanted to walk along the side of Fareham Creek for some time now, imagining that there may be untold photographic oppertunities along the three mile footpath that stretches from Fareham to Porchester Castle.

So with a very stiff wind at my back and a watery sunshine on my face i set out along the "Fareham Easy Access Footpath"..........The footpath is bounded by the Cams Hall golf course on one side and the Creek on the other, the creek eventually becomes Portsmouth Harbour, the Solent, The Channel etc etc........

After about 20minutes of walking i came to a small cluster of trees on the creek side of the footpath, together they created an excellent windbreak, so i parked my delicate backside down on the grassy bank with my back against one of the trees.

Ahead of me i had a nice view of the creek as it swept around in front of me, in the distance there were, Swans, Oystercatchers, Teal, Canadian Geese, and i got to see my very first Eurasian Wigeon. As usual there were large numbers of Blackbirds and Robins flitting about in the undergrowth, oh and one golf ball came whizzing past........!!

I must have sat there for a good hour, just enjoying the view, the sounds and the fresh air.......and the urgency of getting a blip had disappeared.........!!

This Juvenile Mute Swan was all alone, in fact there were a number of juveniles scattered along the creek with no adults at all close by.

I'm not sure who was enjoying the sunshine the most him or me.......??

Bigger, Sunnier Swan here...........

I hope you're all well.

j.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.