Closer's better.

By HatleyFinch

Jenny's chicken

I made this pecking chicken for my friend Jenny who adores and dotes on her chickens, as a present for her (ahem) 'big' birthday.
It's made from Sculpey, a polymer clay that comes in a a huge variety of colours that you can mix and blend. Some of the clays are metallic, and glisten beautifully.
For the hen I created spiral 'rods', made of reds, golds, coppers, yellows and browns. Then for the wing feathers I used fine cross-sections of these rods: sometimes whole but stretched and flattened in the pasta machine; elsewhere likewise flattened but also cut up into long slices and re-laid jumbled up, to try and bring out the brindled and iridescent effect of the feathers.
It was intended as a brooch, but it was hard to make it small enough! So I've made a stand for it, so that Jenny can keep it on her desk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.