Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Who loves ya, baby?

It's Chinese New Year tomorrow but Liverpool's celebrations were held today so I went along to Chinatown and joined the throng. I took a load of shots of the dragon dance, the drummers, the firecrackers going off and the lion dancers climbing up to 'eat' the cabbages hung from the windows of local businesses but it was this picture of a young girl apparently holding back the crowd whilst clutching a Kojak-style lollipop that I liked best.

It was the last shot I took as I was wending my way home and, as I was remembering cop shows of the past, it made me think of the early 1980s British television series The Chinese Detective, starring Liverpool's very own David Yip. Thirty years later we still see very few representations of Chinese people in British popular culture and those we do see tend to be pretty stereotypical. Maybe this is the year when that will start to change...

Happy Year of the Dragon everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.