From the beginning

By AnnBaker

A good read

Some books are timeless. This is No Mean City, it was published in 1935 and is the story of growing up and becoming notorius in the Glasgow Slums called the Gorbals. I first read this years ago and became interested because this was where my dad was born in 1939 and where i used to spend some of my school holidays with my Grand parents.
One of the things i remember most is thinking i was friends with the local kids until one of the girls decided she didnt like me and started to fight with me, i dont think there was a clear winner but all my new friends deserted me to be with one of their own, i guess thats when i decided that i didnt like the Gorbals anymore.

Anyway, i am away to finish my book now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.