Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Grey and Treed

Another grey old summer's day in the Blue Grey Mountains today.

I've had this shot in my head pretty much since I started working in the Mountains, and first came to the point from which I've taken it. I've thought most days of taking it, but kept thinking I was wrong: that it wouldn't make a good photo. This afternoon I decided to give it a crack - since I already had my camera in hand from earlier in my walk. This - cropped to square, B&W, overlay layer, luminance pulled down a smidge, and sharpened a bit - is the result. Mrs tsuken chose it as my best pic from the day.

Click to embiggenate.

Unprocessed version here.

I did not consider blipping three unfortunates I happened upon while walking up a hill. As I started up the hill I saw some white feathers, and looking to the side of the road I saw a dead sulphur-crested cockatoo. Poor thing. I photographed it (as one does) and began to walk off. Thing is, about a metre further on there was another dead cockie, and a third another metre on. I can't see how 3 separate car vs cockatoo incidents could happen so close in time (the corpses all looked similar), or result in such an even spacing, wi all three the same distance from the road as well. One incident involving 3 birds would remove the temporal factor, but I can't see that the cookies would have bounced off a car like that.

Leading mrs tsuken and I to wonder if some sod's been taking pot-shots at them or something - though I do hope not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.