Jack James

By JackJames

Blackford Hill

A lazy and relaxing day. Went food shopping with Poppy before coming back for lunch (curried pasta - a bit odd) and then walked round the corner to Lyndsey's house to pick up my coats that I'd left there before we got in the taxi to go to the club on Thursday night. Stayed for a tea and heard all about their mouse woes, seems that they have a whole family living with them. Which reminds me, my flat has managed to get rid of ours so that's nice!

Cycled to Blackford hill with Lyndsey after to get a little fresh air, took some photos of the view as the sun set. Had quite a lot of fun sliding down the grass afterwards; about as close to sledging as I can imagine this winter.

Went round Meg's house for dinner, vegetarian paella (or is that just risotto?) which was lush, then watched the new BBC adaptation of Birdsong. Wish I had the book to read, people who'd read it were getting frustrated with the pace of the adaptation. I might see if the library has it.

Came back at 11ish and read some more of the book I'm reading at the moment, Pigeon English by Stephen Kelman. So far so good; it's about growing up in Peckham as a young boy just after someone's been stabbed. It's narrated by the boy in 'street slang', which is interesting, but does limit the amount of description possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.