Life Is Pootiful

By juanpoot

Blackford Pond

I learnt a valuable lesson today: don't take a pushchair (at least not one containing a small child) up Blackford Hill. The walking book I consulted beforehand described it as 'moderately hilly'. By the time I reached the summit I was close to a heart attack and people were looking at me with a mixture of pity and incredulity. Luckily it was pretty quiet so I didn't have to put up with too many strange looks.

It was cold and windy at the top and Daisy was crying her head off - half in protest at the cold and half out of tiredness - so it was hardly the tranquility I'd hoped for while enjoying the vista. The views across Edinburgh/Fife to the north and the Braid Hills/Pentlands to the south were spectacular nevertheless, especially as it was such a clear and sunny day. I was going to blip one of those views but instead plumped for this shot of the pond which lies at the bottom of the hill. Something about the combination of light, shadow and water appealed to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.