Snorben's Heron

Today I had to nip into Snorbens (St. Alban's as it is more properly known).

I had five minutes to spare so visited Verulamium park, which has the largest Heronry in Hertfordshire on the island in the lake.

Grey Herons are one of the earliest birds to breed in the year, and there was certainly a lot of activity today including, nest building and nest guarding although I'm not sure that any birds were yet sitting.

There are about a dozen nests in full view and the RSPB are running an information centre with free use of telescopes and binoculars from Thursdays to Sundays throughout the spring.

Unfortunately it was very overcast this morning so my photographic efforts were rather poor, but as I had no time for other shots all day, I had to settle for this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.