Revolution In The Head

Every day I have Beatle-related thoughts.
I might see the name on one of my books or a CD.
I'll pick up my guitar and play Blackbird or the riff to Day Tripper.
I'll recall walking across The Abbey Road Zebra Crossing
and then finding Paul's house, close by the studios in St John's Wood,
and being photographed in front of its green metal gate
on a warm summer night.

And I'll suddenly feel the need to hear Day In The Life,
or Hey Jude, which was playing in the car
as I drove over to my mum's last year.
I was on my way to tell her
that there had been a call from the hospital -
Dad had died. 3 a.m. May 1st.


the movement you need is on your shoulder

Paul: I had a music room at the top of the house
and I was playing 'Hey Jude'
when I got to the line 'The movement you need is on your shoulder'
and I turned round to John and said: 'I'll fix that if you want.'
And he said: 'You won't, you know, that's a great line, that's the best line in it.'
Now that's the other side of a great collaborator - don't touch it, man, that's OK."



Hey Jude

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.