East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Floods predicted

We have been having really wet weather for the last 10 days but the last couple of days it has been torrential rain. A lot of the smaller creeks in the hinterland are flooding and 12 campers were rescued yesterday from Jackadgery which is about an hour inland. Flood warnings are out for all the major rivers from the Sunshine Coast area in Qld and down to Taree in NSW, which is about 5hours south of here.
I went to check out Oyster Channel (which is part of the Clarence River) and it was raining so hard I could hardly see the water ( this was taken at midday). However it eased off a bit for a few minutes - enough for me to snap a couple of shots without getting the camera and myself soaked. I decided I best head to the supermarket and get plenty of supplies in as last January, when the river flooded here, the whole town was cut off for 5-6 days and supplies were getting rather short. I'm hoping it is not going to be as bad as that this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.