Mossy Cobbles

These cobbles are on a small strip between the pavement and the wall of some modern flats. They are on a slight slope, presumably to deter people from walking too close to the windows of the ground floor flats, even though those windows are above normal head height.

As I took this picture, I was thinking that the moss, discarded chewing gum and leaf litter made the cobbles look neglected. They look like sturdy cobbles that could have started life serving on a busy main road somewhere. It seemed a little bit sad to me that they were reduced to a decorative purpose now, and not even doing too well at that in their shabby state.

Just as I put my camera back in my bag, two children on their way to school with their mother ran rihht along the sloping cobbles, holding hands and giggling and squeaking in delight at the fun of doing something that the grown-ups wouldn't attempt!

I wonder if maybe the cobbles are still serving a worthy purpose after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.