Down in the Dip

By DownintheDip

Homemade Haggis

Today is my 100th Blip! Over the past few days I have tried to figure out where I'll get the time to make 100 iced buns or drive to a beach to write '100' in lovely seaside pebbles.

Instead I came home from work and discovered that Mr Down in the Dip had made a homemade haggis. I have never heard of anyone making a homemade haggis before. We were back in Scotland over the Christmas and forgot to buy one, so needs must. He got a sheep's stomach and some animal innards from the butcher and now we have a mammy and a baby haggis, held together with cable ties.

I know that tonight is the night but what with the kids and school we are having our Burn's Supper on Friday.

Unfortunately the mammy haggis burst open in the pot, although this wasn't too bad as it meant we could taste it. Interesting - it's a bit like a cheap burger without the salt. Maybe it is the minced lungs that give it the whizz. It doesn't have the distinctively spiced haggis taste though.
But at least it was edible, which is more than the internet recipe hoped for. After the list of ingredients and detailed description of the method it said 'Serve with mashed potato, if you serve it at all'.
Well we have to serve it to eight people on Friday night. The big question is - do I get a stand in dinner, just in case?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.