SeaThreePeeO

By seathreepeeo

Minor Miracle

Today I became the mother of a 14 year old. How the Hell did that happen? Well, I know how *it* happened, but how did it happen?

Some of you know that my eldest daughter, Ana, is on the autistic spectrum and to say getting to this point has not been an easy ride is an understatement. It always amazes me that we've managed to make it this far relatively unscathed.

Because.

Because, it doesn't matter how much you love them, how much you'd lay your life down for them or how much of a great parent you are, there will come times when parenting a special needs child where you just feel like throwing in the towel. Selfishly stamping your feet and crying, 'This isn't what I signed up for! I don't want to play anymore!'

Thankfully for us those days are few and far between, but they do happen. I am just so grateful that we have been able with wonderful support from friends, family and professionals to get through each and every one of those moments. Sadly some families have not been so lucky.

So Happy 14th Birthday Ana, it's been great and at times it has been 'interesting', but we made it together!

Love,

Mum xxx


P.S. The cupcake placement could be better. It could be in my mouth!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.