Every 30 years

We took the train into Leeds today to use our Christmas book tokens and stock up on books, great stuff! My haul is:
'Pure' by Andrew Miller
'The Collaborator' by Mirza Waheed
'The Sisters Brothers' by Patrick De Witt`
'Tiny Sunbirds Far Away by Christie Watson
'The Emperor of Lies' by Steve Sem-Sandberg
Feedback anyone?

The last two books I have read on my new I-Pad, a Jo Nesbo because it was a freebie with an app, and my pal Kate's first novel Heathbeck Drive By which is to be recommended, particularly if you are a fan of Peter Robinson. I also recommend Paddy's very entertaining review of Kate's book. But back to downloading books - necessary when you want to read unpublished books but you can't beat holding a book in your hand I reckon.

On our return to Bingley, Tony remembered that the Five Rise lock gates are being replaced, an event which happens every 30 years. We took a walk along the towpath but couldn't get very near the actual workings. However, at the weekend the public are allowed to walk through the dry locks and see what is happening so I think a revisit will be in order. Might see some other blippers there?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.