Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

Uncloaked glory

Cycled into town today - only the second time since Christmas as I haven't needed anything much and the weather's been so drab.

This sight stopped me in my tracks! The magnificent building, now Abingdon Museum, has been completely swathed in scaffolding and plastic sheeting for at least a year. I'm not sure when the scaffolding came down, but the old county hall looked stunning in the sunshine this afternoon. In addition to major internal alterations, the brickwork had obviously been cleaned and the white paintwork was gleaming.

It's due to open again this summer - in time for the Queen's Jubilee when hot cross buns will be thrown from the roof to the crowds below! This Abingdon tradition takes place on all important national occasions. I still have a bun in my airing cupboard - caught by youngest son (then aged 6) in 1995 on the 50th anniversary of VE day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.